Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Management question

New Teachers

Management question

Author Post
Jannah Fitch Jannah Fitch 380 Points

As a student teacher, I'm working to develop my classroom management skills. I'm struggling frequently with effectively getting students' attention. One thing I do often is start to speak, realize I don't have everyone's attention and interrupt myself to pause for a second or two. I'll continue when I do have their attention. I'm not sure this is very effective. I certainly don't want to keep speaking and talk over students, but I feel like the importance of what I need to say is diminished by the interruption. Does anyone have better strategies for getting and holding student's attention? Also, I'm trying to develop and project my teacher voice, but I frequently feel like I don't know the line between teacher voice and yelling.

Paola Hernandez Paola Hernandez 1885 Points

In the school where I'm student teaching the quiet signal is a raised hand, this does nothing for me because most of the time the students are not looking at me and it takes longer to quiet them down. Some suggestions I have tried are to call their school mascot name and have the students respond ready. This is something that needs to be taught and practiced with the class. Because it is new they have to get used to knowing that when they say ready it means stop what you are doing, look at the teacher, and listen to what is coming.

Neville Beckford Neville Beckford 2155 Points