Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Teaching Science to Elementary Students

Early Childhood

Teaching Science to Elementary Students

Author Post
Sarahi Villarreal Sarahi Villarreal 395 Points

Hi! Future elementary school teacher here! 

The scary part about being an elementary teacher is that we are in charge of teaching our students about all the subjects that later in life have an assigned teacher who majored in the subject they are learning, my weakest subjects happen to be math and science. (Yikes) I was wondering what would be a good way to ensure that I am constantly learning along with my students? What are some fun ways to learn so that my students do not struggle in the future with the subject like myself?

Alexandria Monahan Alexandria Monahan 380 Points

Hi Sarahi! 

I am also a future elementary school teacher and one of my favorite subjects is science! One of the things that I like best about it is the hands-on activities that the students can do! As an example, I have field experience with a thrid grade classroom right now. Within the past week, they have been learning about how seeds grow into plants such as fruits and vegetables as well as how animals assist in pollination! This unit is so easy to do experiments with because there are ample amount of resources to use, all you have to do is look! Just today, my students and I conducted an apple experiment during class. I gave them four different types of apples and they had to figure out the different tastes that the apples had as well as write down what the apple looks like. After when we were done I created a bar graph and my students had to state what apple was their favorite (little to their surprise they were doing math)! One way that I would recommend to learn with your students is to pick out activities and lessons that not only your students will enjoy, but yourself as well! I found out that it is a lot more enjoyable when you are able to positively experience science class with your student