Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Kindergarten Lessons

Early Childhood

Kindergarten Lessons

Author Post
Payton Brown Payton Brown 180 Points

Hi everyone,

I am currently a pre-service teacher at the University of Arkansas and will be doing some lessons with my kindergarten placement class. I would love some ideas on a lesson about weather, solar systems, or really anything! I don't want to do something that is too complicated or advanced because they are so young. Thanks for your help!

Kyli Bumbray Kyli Bumbray 1708 Points

Hey Payton,

I am also a pre-service teacher and am looking into lessons surrounding weather. There is one lesson that I have used before and think it is fun and hands on. It is about weather and specifically rain. Basically, you have the students create their own rain clouds. You would take cotton balls, blue colored water, and eye droppers. You can do this with the class or do it so they can just observe. Basically, you would drop the water into the cotton ball until it is saturated and the water falls back out making rain drops!

Min Jeong (Esther) Lee Ester Lee 750 Points

Hi Payton, 

I think lessons on weather and sustainable energy would be a great concept for students to begin learning from a young age.  The context of flow of energy and how solar were from a very high levels concept should do.  Just to understand the idea should help the students get more familiar with how these sytems can help the planet they live in.

Kristine Huang Kristine Huang 865 Points

Hi Payton!