Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Interesting

Early Childhood

Interesting

Author Post
Mary Nelson Mary Nelson 60 Points

As a student teacher I am looking for ways to take boring textbook science lessons and turn them into engaging lessons that students will remember and use. 

Hannah Brumley Hannah Brumley 2235 Points

I was in a second-grade classroom for one of my teaching levels. The teacher said the same thing about how she disliked the lessons in the textbook. What she did was came up with different ways to be able to show the classroom the lesson. One day she would do the experiment and have the students try to explain why it happened. Another day she would have the students do a hands-on activity. I thought it was really interesting that she did it, but she got the students engaged. I wasn't sure if they were going to be engaged when just the teacher did it but they were. They were the ones trying to come up with why that happened and asking lots of questions. I would say definitely hands-on! Which will help with all the students helping out and being fully engaged in the lesson. 

Ashley GIbson Ashley GIbson 775 Points

Hi Mary,

I think that the best way to transform a lesson is by making it hands-on. When science is hands-on, students tend to remember the class and the lesson more. Also, I would recommend working on interesting attention getters (sets) before starting a lesson to really introduce the topic in a fun, interactive, and exciting way.

Sincerely,

Ashley Gibson

Jeannette Grout Jeannette Grout 390 Points