Forums

Forums / STEM / Is Algebra Necessary?

STEM

Is Algebra Necessary?

Author Post
Maureen Stover Maureen Stover 41070 Points

Today on the Diane Rehm show, she interviewed Andrew Hacker, the author of a New York Times (28 July 12) op-ed piece called 'Is Algebra Necessary'. In addition to Mr. Hacker, she also included Ed Nolan, Jacob Vigdor, and Juldy Bolton-Fasman in the discussion and debate. As a counter point, Ms. Bolton-Fasman authored an opposing viewpoint article called In Defense of Algebra and Other Difficult Subjects.

The basic premise of the discussion and debate was whether or not Algebra should be required for American students. As a science teacher, I fully support teaching Algebra to all students. I feel the problem solving skills and understanding of math concepts that students learn through algebraic thinking are critical skills for all Americans. With the recent focus on STEM and looking for ways to bolster our students critical thinking skills, I'm curious to hear other educators' opinions on this subject.

Maureen

Sandy Gady Sandy Gady 43175 Points