Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Remote learning resources & advice

New Teachers

Remote learning resources & advice

Author Post
Melissa Portillo Melissa Portillo 1245 Points

Hello everyone!! 

I am a future teacher and I am interested to learn more about what types of resources are available when teaching elementary school science remotely. I know times are tough and it’s hard to adjust for students, making it extremely hard to keep them engaged through a computer screen. Are there any tips or tricks that you guys use in order to maintain control of your classroom online? Are there any specific science websites that are used to help students learn remotely and keep them engaged throughout the lesson? If you could give a future teacher advice what would it be?

Maria Guadarrama Maria Guadarrama 650 Points

Hello Melissa, 

I am also a future teacher but have luckily had some experience doing science activities remotely. When it comes to science activities, you have to keep in mind safety precautions. Also, you want to make sure that if any materials are sent home you let the parents know. If the activity requires adult supervision, I suggest for you to do the activity. You can have students observe and include interactive worksheets. These worksheets have to go along with your science lesson. This will make the students engage in the learning process.

Aryssa Jassoy Aryssa Jassoy 824 Points

Melissa,