Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / 5th grade science

Elementary Science

5th grade science

Author Post
Kelly Forbes Kelly Forbes 535 Points

I am currently a student and I am in my science methods course.  I am teaching engineering to my fifth graders.  What are some activities or videos you have done with or shown your fifth graders regarding engineering. I am looking for some "hooks" as well as some fun activites to get them excited about engineering! 

Arrie Winston Arrie Winston 1020 Points

What about constructing a robot as a group activity or a shoe box car.

Celine Payne Celine Payne 20 Points

I'm not sure the time-frame you have to engage students in engineering, however something that you should look into are GoGo Boards (http://gogoboard.org/). These small circuit boards allow you to manipulate light, proximity, magnetic, temperatures sensors etc. and lets students create code to manipulate these sensors. The GoGo board allows for a lot of creativity once students become slightly familiar with how to form their code. Although this may not be something you could implement in your classroom now, it might be interesting to try out in future years since it's becoming more and more common to expose younger students to programming and engineering. You'd be surprised at the multitude of projects you can create from just a small circuit board.

H Mortimer H Mortimer 20 Points

Hi Kelly, some experiments that are fifth grade to middle school appropriate may be: solar oven, KNEX buildings/cars, balloon cars, marble catapult, simple motors, alka seltzer rockets / flying film canisters, simple circuits, a simple computer programming lesson (I don't have a good resource for this), paper airplanes (competition for longest distance, acrobatics, glide time - Youtube has lots of instructional videos for these), paper propeller cars (Lou Vee air car), and Rube Goldberg machines. I hope this helps!

Chris Brantner Chris Brantner 20 Points