Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Classroom Management

Elementary Science

Classroom Management

Author Post
Tatyanna Camacho Tatyanna Camacho 350 Points

Hi, I am a student currently pursing my bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. Do you think the classroom is better set up in groups where the desk are together or individual where students desk are separated? Do you think students should be taken the group privilege away if they are too loud or not effectively working as a team?

Kaeli Myers Kaeli Myers 305 Points

Hi Tatyanna,

I am also a pre-service teacher looking to earn a degree in elementary education. I strongly believe that a classroom is better set up into grouped desks. This arrangement allows for frequent discussion without having to add transition time for students to move into groups in the middle of a lesson. Student engagement is encouraged when desks are set up in groups. Group desks also allow for students to practice and work on communication. Students are also able to ask questions and bounce ideas off of each other. With group seating, students are able to keep each other accountable for staying on task and for their behaviors. While I do not believe that group privileges should be taken away, finding the right group dynamic for seating arrangements and working effectively is a trial and error process. Students need to know the expectations for group work from the start of the school year and understand the consequences of not staying on task during group discussions. As the teacher, you have to make sure that you are consistent with the expectations and following through on consequences when the expectations are not being met.

Mary Potter Mary Potter 745 Points