Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Testing during distance learning

Evaluation and Assessment

Testing during distance learning

Author Post
Melinda Lape Melinda Lape 657 Points

I am a student teacher for 9th grade physical science.  With all of the distance learning going on, how are we supposed to truthfully and ethically test our students' understanding about the concepts they are required to learn?  In all honesty, if a student has intentions of cheating, they are going to do it.  But what about standardized tests, etc?

Robert Chesbro Robert Chesbro 150 Points

Hi Melinda, Hope you are surviving the madness. I saw your post on NSTA and wanted to share this formative assessment exercise. It works on many levels: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TUilwSNpu97jwdh6qp8kOxLL3b_y1bQFauOFch_XLwo/edit?usp=sharing Here's a little tutorial: https://drive.google.com/file/d/14MkUUtlNPfnqMOf-ZI-8CmsC4uGtsABR/view Hope you're surviving the madness. Rob

Robert Chesbro Robert Chesbro 150 Points

As for assessment, I think it's time to forget about it at the moment. You could use Google Forms to collect data, but traditional assessment and standardized testing is dead in the water at the moment. One technique is to assess part of an exercise that the student submits without notifying them in advance which part of the work will be assessed. This will guarantee maximum engagement. It's time to think outside the box on assessment, and it's about time. Hope all is well in Georgia. I'm in PA and things are relatively calm at the moment. Rob

Charissa Barnhill Charissa Barnhill 2434 Points