Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Teaching about space

Earth and Space Science

Teaching about space

Author Post
Iris Par Iris Par 4015 Points

Hi I am a student in saint peter's university. I am studying to become a teacher and am having a hard time coming up with activities when it comes to helping students understan Space. One idea that could work would be creating space slime. However this would not help students learning. I would like to know any ideas that can help students learn about space but having fun at the same time. 

Laurence Taylor Laurence Taylor 655 Points

Hi Iris,

In my experience space is one of the science topics that teachers are fortunate to have a natural buy in, or student interest. That being said, lesson plans that dont include this interest or includes hands on learning is an easy way to lose this natural interest. I am not sure if you are already teaching in a class room but if you are I would suggest starting the lesson with an acitivity to collect student interest and to check what background knowledge they may already have. Usually I find students have a high interest in searching for habitable planets, black holes and space travel, those may not directly fit any of your standards but you can create lessons that hit your standards and includes their interest.

For a starting lesson I would suggest letting them take over the learning with a group project building and teaching the class about one planet in our solar system, building a collective model. As part of their expectations you can include that they talk about why they think that their planet would, or wouldn't, be a good planet for humans to live on. Split the groups up and make sure all planets are covered, that way at the end you can arrage them in order and possibly even discuss the scale and distances between them and each other and the sun, depending on the grade level.