Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Recommendations for Elementary Science

Early Childhood

Recommendations for Elementary Science

Author Post
Alejandra Cardenas Alejandra Cardenas 240 Points

What are some ideas or activities do you recommend are necessary to teach science effectivly to young learners? 

Elizabeth Jimenez Elizabeth Jimenez 285 Points

Alejandra as a pre-service teacher I am also learning what are effective ways to teach science to young learners. I recommend that you include the 5 Es into your science lesson: Engage, Explore, Explain, Elaborate and Evaluate. Using each of them in your science lesson will ensure that you engage your young learners in the science lesson. 

Katie Casablanca Katie Casablanca 33 Points

This is a great question and I am wondering the same thing as I am also a pre-service teacher. I have read from a few other discussions that using plants and nature is a great way to implement science into student learning. I really like the idea of explaining how certain plants grow, such as flowers and fruits! I think this would be very fun for the kids too, as they can see how their favorite fruits/vegetables to eat and/or favorite plants have a life cycle of their own. I hope you found this helpful, it helped me visualize how I can introduce science in a fun and engaging way to my future students!

Yolanda Rodriguez Yolanda Rodriguez 330 Points