Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Growing Excitement for Science

New Teachers

Growing Excitement for Science

Author Post
Chanel Bristol Chanel Bristol 240 Points

I am a pre-service teacher and have taken a great interest in teaching elementary school science! What are some activities that I can start the school-year of science with that will excite my students for the lessons to come?

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

OMG! There are so many things it is hard to choose one. I teach elementary so disregard if you are teaching middle or high school. I usually begin by asking them if I can cut a hole in a sheet a paper big enough to walk through. I ask them to try it first with their own paper. They can't do it. We take a vote of who thinks it can be done and who thinks it can not be done. I keep asking them why they think it can't or can be accomplished and we discuss their reasoning. I then demonstrate the "trick." https://allfortheboys.com/home/2014/09/03/quick-trick-walk-through-a-sheet-of-paper.html Then we see how many people we can fit inside the paper circle. I've gotten 25 students including me as long as we are careful not to tear the paper. They get so excited. The real reason I do this is to get them excited but also to question things and be able to start asking why or how? As scientists we have to prove things. This is a great way to get them engaged and thinking about proving what they state as a fact.

Taylor Charlton Taylor Charlton 535 Points

Hi Chanel! I think there is so many activities to chose from that will help you excite your students. Try to incorporate some hands-on and engaging activities with your class! This will get them excited to act out the experience and actually be able to perform the task. I will attach a link to a website that has a lot of great hands on activity ideas! https://www.education.com/activity/science/

Pamela Dupre Pam Dupre 92369 Points