Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Mystery Science online

Elementary Science

Mystery Science online

Author Post
Lisa Chappa Lisa Chappa 145 Points

Hello.  I am new to this forum.  I teach 5th-grade science.  I would like to know if anyone here has used Mystery Science?  If so, have you followed their progression to cover the standards or do you choose one lesson at a time to relate to what you are teaching?  How do you like/not like it?  What do you use with it?  Thank you for any advice or ideas.

Emma Scheidler Emma Scheidler 1905 Points

Hi, 

I am a preservice teacher, but have seen Mystery Science used in a few of my practicums. The school that I was at used Mystery Science as their curriculum, but the teacher who I partnered with would tweak it as needed in order to cover standards and the way that she wanted her students to be engaged. I found that Mystery Science is a good thing to use if you don't have time to come up with your own lesson or if you want something fun for the students. SOME of the lessons are actually really good, and others, not so much. Also, in science, we want our students to pose questions and wonder about what's going on. In Mystery Science, it pretty much tells the students straight up what the problem is and how it should be solved. 

Lisa Chappa Lisa Chappa 145 Points

We don't have a curriculum.  What do you use that you like better?

Hello,