Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Misconceptions

Early Childhood

Misconceptions

Author Post
Catherine Teed Catherine Teed 270 Points

Hi everybody! I am interning in a second grade classroom this semester. I am currently researching misconceptions that second grade children have. Can anyone give me any suggestions as to a misconception that you have seen or heard from a child at this age? 

Jane Mendez Jane Mendez 2840 Points

Hello! My name is Jane Mendez and I am a student teacher for Florida International University.  Last semester I had to do a science lesson on living vs. non-living organisms for a 2nd grade class. While teaching that lesson,  I was very surprised by the level of misconceptions students had. They did not understand that grass and algae were also living organisms. They were only able to identify humans and animals as living organisms. I hope this helps you and best of luck on your internship. 

Wendy Nativi Wendy Nativi 775 Points

Karen Reyes Karen Reyes 875 Points

Hello! I believe that a misconception that students have at this age is about birds. They believe that all birds can fly which isn't completely true. There are birds like the penguin who cannot fly. 

Jasmin Delgado Jasmin Delgado 840 Points

I have seen students get confused with the life cycle and they believe that all animals go through the same stages or the same number of stages in the life cycle. This is something that I myself had to make clear to the students when go over this topic. 

Kaycie Willingham Kaycie Willingham 925 Points

The moon is made out of cheese.

The season is winter because it is cold outside.

Brina Coffman Brina Coffman 880 Points

I have heard many students tell me that plants are nonliving things. Since plants do not move they automatically assume plants are nonliving things when in reality that is not true.  I am currently student teaching in a 3rd grade classroom. Hope this helps!

Olivia Yoo Ji Hyun Yoo 805 Points