Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Technology Based Classroom

Elementary Science

Technology Based Classroom

Author Post
Ashley Edmond Ashley Edmond 965 Points

Good afternoon everyone,

My name is Ashley and I am a pre-service teacher. We currently live in a time where technology is so prevalent. What are a few ways of incorporating technology into the science classroom and how has it worked for you?

Adielys Trincado Adielys Trincado 783 Points

Hi Ashley, 

I think that technology is definitely a very important factor in today's generation especially in science, therefore, it is important to implement technology into the science classroom. Something that I found helpful in one of my science lessons is using technology to display a video about the topic being covered. For one of my inquiry lessons I shows my students a video on the properties of matter before proceeding with the lesson and I believe that it was a good way of engaging students and introducing the topic. I also think that it was helpful because students learn in different forms. For instance, some are visual learners, others learn hands on, and others are auditory learners. Therefore, using a video to introduce a topic helps cater to the learning preference of all students. 

Toni Oyama Toni Oyama 405 Points

Since technology is so prevalent in classrooms today, I have also used videos to introduce topics and get students engaged in the new concept. In the lesson I have taught, I use powerpoint slides to display information and diagrams for visual learners as I am talking too.

Jenniffer Dorcinvil Jenniffer Dorcinvil 420 Points

Hello everyone,