Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Teaching Earth Science for the first time

Earth and Space Science

Teaching Earth Science for the first time

Author Post
Brendan Trache Brendan Trache 1395 Points

Hi Everyone, I'm new to NSTA. This fall I'll be teaching Earth Science to 8th graders for the first time. Does anyone have any suggestions for relevant activities we could do on the first day? I'm looking for something that would be content related, but also could serve as a get-to-know-eachother activity. For our state standards (VA) the first couple of weeks are dedicated to explicitly teaching "the nature of science". Thanks -Brendan

Brooke Bartels Brooke Bartels 4295 Points

Hi, I have been learning about get to know you activities that are content based in my education classes at UNI. There is 4 corners. Have a questions about Earth science and give 4 possible answers and the students have to go pick a corner. Then the students that are in the corners together discussion why they chose the answers. They get to know one another and why they chose the answer. Also theres a beach ball activity. You throw it to one another and what ever question there thumb lands on they answer that question. These are just a few activities/ideas for you to think about using. Hope it helps! Brooke

Marcos Aurélio Silva Marcos Aurélio 2927 Points

Essa é uma ótima ideia! Ótima maneira de envolver os alunos.

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

I don't remember where I got this (possibly Facebook - or here!) but I use an inflatable globe and throw it out to a student. The student catches it and tells me how many of their fingers are touching water. They then share something about themselves and toss it to another student. Tally up the number of fingers touching water for each student and then calculate the average at the end It should be close to 70%, the amount of the planet's surface covered with water.

Marisela Garza Marisela Garza 2525 Points