Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Preservice Teacher Advice

New Teachers

Preservice Teacher Advice

Author Post
Ella Duke Ella Duke 205 Points

Hello!  I am an undergraduate studying elementary education. As I get closer to graduation, I would like to start to compile some helpful advice and resources that will help me once I start teaching. What are some things you wish you had known before you started teaching or resources you wish you would have gotten access to sooner?  Thanks!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

The greatest thing you can do is to start collecting resources. One way to do that is to start your "My Library" collection on NSTA. You can go to the "Explore All Resources" tab and refine your search, then click add to My Library and you will have a great collection very quickly. Check out http://ngss.nsta.org/ as well to look for resources. The forums are a great place to post questions about content, teaching strategies, etc. I wish I would have joined NSTA when I first began teaching!

Susan Farmer Susan Farmer 1520 Points

I agree that joining NSTA is a wonderful way to have access to great teaching resources. I love active learning and have always collected teaching activities to engage my students. The more I taught, the more I also learned about assessing student learning. Students can have a lot of fun and be engaged and not master the objectives. Take a look at the Assessment Probes in the Learning Center. They are a great way to really understand what students are understanding!

Kelsey Nason Kelsey Nason 680 Points