Forums

Forums / Life Science / Animals Characteristics and Functions

Life Science

Animals Characteristics and Functions

Author Post
Amy Casey Amy Casey 2360 Points

In Science class, I have been working with the 1st grade students on animal characteristics and functions. We talked about what animals need in order to survive. After which, I shared some pictures of some animals. The students were given time to talk with their partner about the animals characteristics and the function of it. In the next, lesson we are going to read a book about animals characteristics and functions. What did you find successful in your classrooms?

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Amy,
You might enjoy this free book chapter on animal behavior: What Oh What Can An Animal Do?
Also, this book chapter by the Picture Perfect Science Lessons authors is a good one for k-3: Wiggling Worms .

Carolyn

Lori Towata Lori Towata 2825 Points

As a third grade teacher, I usually start with what we see around campus so I start with birds. We make observations of the different birds on campus (we have at least 6-7) and then I show students pictures about the birds and information about what they eat and how they fly. We talk specifically about wings, bill/beak, and feet (whether they walk or fly). Then I have students create their own birds with a bird wing, bill/beak, or feet template. (you could have a variety of flightless, water, forest, migratory birds) The students have to explain what their bird does. If you're looking to remain focused on animals, then magazine cut-outs of animals would work. If you want to spark imagination, you could take features of animals and have them explain what it would be like on another animal because it might help them to really understand the function of that animal. For example, "What would an elephant's trunk be like on a giraffe?" Granted, I'm more of an upper-grades teacher, so I'm not sure if 1st graders are developmentally ready for the creativi