Forums

Forums / STEM / Implementing STEM in my classroom

STEM

Implementing STEM in my classroom

Author Post
Leslie Pompa Leslie Pompa 485 Points

Good evening, I am studying to be an elementary school teacher and am currently working with kindergartners. I would like to know how I could implement STEM in a classroom for Kindergarten. Anything helps, thank you!

Ana Gonzalez Ana Gonzalez 885 Points

Hi Leslie!
I think it could be a lot of fun to implement STEM in your future Kindergarten classroom. Research states that implementing STEM at a young age can really help your students in the long run! I think providing your students with hands on activities that are developmentally appropriate would be the best way to implement STEM in your classroom. I found a link with a lot of great ideas for your Kindergartners! Kindergarten STEM Hope you find the activities useful!

Maria Salazar Maria Salazar 255 Points

Good evening to you too, I am also studying to be an elementary school teacher. One way that you could implement STEM in a classroom for Kindergarten is by using short, challenging, group problem solving and brain push-up activity. Such as the Row, Row, Row, the Foil Boat. The title itself is engaging and it is really simple. All you would need is a few simple supplies as: foil paper 5x6 inches, pennies, and a plastic container with water. You have the classroom create their own boat and have the boat float on water and then lastly have them add the pennies one by one and see how many pennies it would take to sink the boat. It is easy and fun all at the same time. Plus you implement the nursery rhyme which possibly they may have prior knowledge of hearing it.

Francisco Garcia Francisco Garcia 325 Points

Hello Leslie, I do highly believly that schools should implement STEM at an early age, because this not only challenges the student, but also gets them thinking. One way that I would start off with an activity that is both math and science.