Forums

Forums / Informal Science / Fishing for Needy Families

Informal Science

Fishing for Needy Families

Author Post
Juliana Texley Juliana Texley 1490 Points

I had a great luncheon yesterday with the winner of NSTA/Seaworld Environmental Educator award. This young man teaches underprivileged youth (including some really hardened gang members) to fish--and environmental education along the way. He's succeeded in Florida, North Carolina and the poorest neighborhood of Nassau, Bahamas. It's amazing to think that kids who live less than a mile from a beach in these areas have never fished, never learned to swim, almost never see the ocean. After school (or out of school) programs are SO effective here.

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

I worked in a school with 75% Free and Reduced lunches. These students had very little experiences beyond the neighborhood. We took them fishing every year to a local park with a lake stocked especially for catch and release by kids. They were ecstatic to fish!! It is a great activity for kids.

Carmen Cruz Carmen Cruz 2125 Points

As a former classroom teacher that lives 75 miles from the Gulf of Mexico, I constantly encountered the same issue with my students. In many rural and under represented areas, all too often students are never exposed to informal learning outside their communities because of economic disadvantages. Unfortunately many of these students lack the ability to make real world connections. Informal education combined with formal education can be extremely rewarding and a great learning opportunity for students that will allow them to build upon their knowledge. Kudos to all that assist with afterschool programs!

Sue Garcia Sue Garcia 42675 Points