Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Animals in a Kinder classroom

Elementary Science

Animals in a Kinder classroom

Author Post
Mariela Ramirez Mariela Ramirez 235 Points

Hello guys, I am studying to be an elementary teacher and I wanted to know if a kinder class is okay to take animals to or is it to early. There are many lessons that can be incorporated with bringing animals to the class and it allows students to have that experience and to remember it. It does worry me that students will not be able to behave and will get out of hand and in the end hurt an animal. Is it best to wait for them to grow and leave it for the later years or to find ways of preparing them? 

Jennifer Standlee Jennifer Standlee 680 Points

It is never too early to bring in animals! Anything in a glass aquarium works great! Animals that are active during the day like fish are great. A hermit crab is fun and an easy keeper.  Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

Elizabeth Jimenez Elizabeth Jimenez 285 Points

Jennifer,

I think it's a great idea to bring animals to a kindergarten class. In my son's kindergarten class the teacher asked parents if they would be willing to share their pets. She asked for small animals. My son brought our beta fish and that day the student's learned about fish and the responsibility of taking care of a pet.

Yolanda Rodriguez Yolanda Rodriguez 330 Points

Hello, 

I believe that friendly, easy to care, animals would be great to incorporate in a Kindergarten classroom such as fish or small turtle. As long as you teach the students the proper way to handle and care for their pet you should not have a problem. It teaches the students the responsibility behind having a pet. I would teach about the care and responsibility of having a pet first and then incorporate the animal. 

Enjoy!!

Jaqueline Rios Jaqueline Rios 95 Points