Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Why do we have day and night: 2nd Grade Lesson

Elementary Science

Why do we have day and night: 2nd Grade Lesson

Author Post
Katelyn O'Sullivan Katelyn O'Sullivan 240 Points

I am a pre-service teacher gearing up to teach a lesson about Earth's rotation creating day and night. Who can share about this?  Thank you!

Autumn Morrison Autumn Morrison 735 Points

Hey Katelyn,

I just observed a lesson that my mentor teacher did about day and night and I thought a few activities she did was really great. The teacher started out asking the students what they knew about day and night (asking then what do they see and how to they behave differently?) and wrote down what the students said. Also one thing she did was gave the students a worksheet and have them circle the activities related to daytime in one color and the activities related to night in another. A modification of that is have the students create a list in groups or individually or daytime and night time activities. The list doesn’t have to be in writing I would also encourage students to draw different daytime or nighttime activities, the drawing aspect may catch their interest more than writing will. Another activity that the teacher did was take a flashlight and an inflatable globe. She had a star placed on the globe that marked where we were and then shined the flash light on that spot. She then explained that this represents daytime and then she turned the globe to show that as less light is hitting the spot it is getting darker and when the light is not shining on the spot that is representative of when it is night. This also allows students to see that when it is night where we are it is daytime in other places. I hope some of these ideas help and hope the lesson goes great!

Autumn

Zoe Fritz Zoe Fritz 620 Points