Forums

Forums / STEM / Stem Assessments

STEM

Stem Assessments

Author Post
Karina Erazo Karina Erazo 945 Points

Hi everyone, I am a preservice teacher creating a unit on air pressure. I am having trouble figuring out how to incorporate assesments into my lesson on stem. How do we get ready for assessment in STEM? do they have to be formal or can they be informal? is there a specific type of rubric we must create ? 

Jack Bevans Jack Bevans 660 Points

Hey Karina, I am a third year student also from Wartburg College. I think you've chosen a very intersting topic here. Assessments are definitely very important to try to incorporate into you lessons as they help you gain a knowledge base for your students and help you understand what may need to be retaught or what they have a solid grasp on. Formative/informal assessments are probably the easier way to go here, as they can be in the form of bellwork, exit tickets, low-stakes group work, or discussion questions. If these air pressure lessons are part of a unit, it may also be helpful to add in a formal/summative assessment at the end, which would look like a final project or a sitdown test/exam. I wish you the best of luck!

Christina Branaman Christina Branaman 1120 Points

Hi Karina! That sounds like a very interesting topic! Your assessment will depend on the type of lesson you're doing. I'm sure you're aware of exit tickets as a formal assessment, but it's important to look at what you want them to take from the lesson. Think of your objective and determine what the goal is. Once you have this, you can determine if an informal assessment (showing thumbs up) or even as formal as recreating an experiment or proof. I hope this helps! Best of luck to you.

Annie Dietz Annie Dietz 725 Points