Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Student Teaching Advice

General Science and Teaching

Student Teaching Advice

Author Post
Kassidy Shaw Kassidy Shaw 225 Points

Hello everyone! I am currently studying to get my initial K-6 licensure at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I am taking a Teaching Science course and learning all about science curriculum, best practices, and content. I am having to go to my field placement schools and teach a science lesson. To my understanding, science lessons require a lot of classroom managment and established expectations. Being that I am only teaching one science lesson, I will not have much rapport with the class reguarding expectations and behavior. I was wondering if any experienced teachers whom have had interns teach science have any advice on what topics to teach, and how to best establish those ground rules so that the lesson runs smoothly? Thank you! 

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

I have not worked with interns, but I would think that if you're worried about classroom management, you could take a few approaches:

• demonstration instead of an experiment
  • work with models instead of chemicals 
  • have students spend a few minutes brainstorming 'lab rules' before the experiment so they have ownership

Brittany Joachim Brittany Joachim 315 Points

If you talk about lab expectations before the lab that would be helpful.

I usually include

-Stay with your lab group

-Work as a team

-Try your best

Maybe having a prize or incentive during the lab would be helpful.  Lab group who I see working like a team the most gets stickers... I would also give lots of positive reinforcement/encouragment and always be monitoring all areas of the room (a very impossible task ha!).

Abbey King Abbey King 640 Points