Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Density Lesson for Elementary

Elementary Science

Density Lesson for Elementary

Author Post
Anicia Rodriguez Anicia Rodriguez 365 Points

Hi community! 

I am a student teacher wondering if I could get a little bit of assistance from you all. I did a 5E lesson over density. My 3rd grade students engaged in an exploration of two different stations that contained different objects to test to see if they were less dense or more dense than water. Their prior knowledge of density came from the literature text 'Things That Float and Things That Don't'. They enjoyed the book and it motivated them to explore on their own about the density. For my elaborate portion of this lesson, I showed them a video of the '7 Layers of Density' and they loved it! If I wanted to teach them a lesson about the density of liquids, what are some other ways I could engage them again without showing them another video? 

Thank you for taking your time in reading this.

Warm hugs,

Anicia Rodriguez

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Anicia!

Using the 5E format is a good way to organize a lesson. In addition to the video, which intrigued the students, you could go on to a similar hands-on investigation in the classroom. The lesson Comparing the Densities of Different Liquids could be adapted for 3rd grade for students to see for themselves that liquids have different densities. This activity, from the American Chemical Society, could be done by small groups of students or as a large group demonstration. If you would do this as a demonstration, I would involve as many students as possible in the measuring, pouring, and analysis, rather than you as the teacher doing all of the work! 

Mary B

Ashley Jacobs Ashley Jacobs 80 Points

Anicia,