Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Relationships with students

New Teachers

Relationships with students

Author Post
Jannah Fitch Jannah Fitch 380 Points

As a student teacher, I'm struggling to build relationships with students. My background is in academic research and I find myself speaking and acting too formally with students. I'm doing lunchroom duty to interact with students in another setting outside of the classroom. I'm enjoying it and trying to emulate the other teachers and staff that monitor the lunchroom. I feel like I'm having very brief, shallow interactions with students. I ask them how there day is and if the food is good. I'm not sure if developing less shallow relationships with students is a matter of time, or if there's a better way to approach them and talk to them. I'm working in a middle school with 7th and 8th graders. I'm interested in knowing how other teachers develop relationships in these types of settings.

Paige Sydoruk Paige Dydoruk 910 Points

Sometimes it's difficult to balance building a relationship with students. You don't want to be too formal, but at the same time you don't want to be too friendly. What I've noticed that works is to find out an interest about each student. So, find out about their favorite sports team or an outside activity that they like. You can even find out about music they like. Then, do some research at home about these interests so that you can talk about them with the students. For example, find out about a student's favorite football team and each week when they play, ask them what the score was for the game. You could also ask them to explain an interest of theirs to them. Any way that you seem interested in something they like will show that you are building a relationship.

Jessica Nguyen Jessica Nguyen 1155 Points