Forums

General Science and Teaching

Field Trips

Author Post
Jessica Philipp Jessica Philipp 5479 Points

Hello, I'm a Pre-Service Teacher in Iowa.  I am curious to know what science-led field trips you have planned for your classroom?  How did you introduce the field trip?  Any tips you would like to share on preparing a science-led field trip?  

Rachel Steadman Rachel Steadman 220 Points

Hi Jessica! I am currently a student teacher in 2nd grade. We recently took a field trip to our city's Children's Museum. There were tons of different hands on activities for them to engage in over a broad subject matter. However, they did have some wonderful areas for science specifically. One part of our Children's museum has a place called "force works" where the children can use basically a large cauldron that rushes water through the entire exhibit! The children can see how the force of the waves move whatever the put in the cauldron. In addition to this, there were areas where the children were able to see the life cycle of certain animals, specifically chicks. These are just a few of the science-related exhibits there are, but it was a great way to get the students more engaged and interested in how science works!

Tracy Galle Tracy Galle 660 Points