Forums

Forums / New Teachers / New Student Teacher

New Teachers

New Student Teacher

Author Post
Cameron Willmon Cameron Willmon 1925 Points

I am about to go into student teaching and am looking for ideas on classroom management such as redirecting when students start to get out of hand, and positive disiplining methods when bad behavior occurs.

Thanks!

Derrick Lietz Derrick Lietz 438 Points

Hi Cameron,

I am in an education program as well, but I work as a behavior interventionist for kids currently. I think one of the best ways to manage classroom behaviors is to lay out your expectations and rules from the first day. You could even have students create their own rules so they feel like they had a part in creating the classroom community. After the expectations are set, it will be important to always follow through with your rules. If there isn't follow through, then the students will feel like they can really do anything. From then on, elementary-aged students thrive on recognition and attention. I believe using a positive reinforcement method is the best way to see results that will last. It will take some time and patience, but I think it is definitely worth to try. Again, I haven't had an opportunity to try this myself, but I have seen many positive changes in individual students' behavior by utilizing this method!

Good luck!

- Derrick

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Cameron,