Forums

Forums / Pre-service Teachers / Science in only four weeks

Pre-service Teachers

Science in only four weeks

Author Post
Payton Russo Payton Russo 395 Points

Hello! I am a preservice teacher in elementary education. The school district I plan to student teach in and eventually work in switches between science and social studies every four weeks. While this is still a good bit of time if you are doing science every day, students will go without science instruction for four weeks as well. It seems as though it would be difficult to re-interest students in science and connect different standards to each other when there are gaps in between. I would love to hear any advice on this topic on how to connect science and keep students interest!

Hi, Payton. I think the best way to keep the students interested and continually learning about a particular subject (in this case science) would be to incorporate it into other topics. Science and math go hand in hand as does reading. In the case of social studies, science has made great strides to help that subject come as far as it has. So making your lessons incorporate other subjects will help your students learn that they are all connected in certain ways and that learning science can help further their understanding of so many things!

Let's hope the district can work to get science and social studies into a full-time position.

Rhamey Floyd Rhamey Floyd 480 Points