Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Teaching Science to Kinder

Early Childhood

Teaching Science to Kinder

Author Post
Brenda Villarreal Brenda Villarreal 974 Points

I am a student teacher in a kindergarten classroom. I recently did a lesson about sorting plants and the students were very wild since it was their first time having a hands-on science lesson. What type of lesson would be more effective to presenting the students with having hands-on experiences. I want for them to enjoy the lesson as much as possible. 

Brianna Marvin Brianna Marvin 2030 Points

I think this is a great idea! I think still working with plants, but having a lesson more towards the end of the year. I really like the idea of gardening with the students. I think that gardening and tying in a plants life cycle and how we grow plants is a great hands-on lesson for any age in an elementary setting. Introducing hands-on activities at an early age is important to me because this is how I think that all students learn best, especially myself as a student. I love getting to use my hands and to learn through experience! So I think that this is a great way for students to learn too, especially at young ages! Keep with this lesson idea, but tweaking it to add more to it so that the students are still using their hands but taking it even further such as gardening.

Keela Uhlenkamp Keela Uhlenkamp 1860 Points