Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Teaching Evolutionary Theory

New Teachers

Teaching Evolutionary Theory

Author Post
Grant Meth Grant Meth 410 Points

Hello all,

My name is Grant Meth and I am a 3rd year preservice teacher at Wartburg College. I am majoring in PE but I am also getting an endorsement in secondary science. Recently in a class, we talked about teaching evolutionary theory in school and how it is a touchy subject because of religious beliefs. We discussed some solutions like meeting with students or families in one on one settings after school to respectfully discuss the situation. We also brainstormed some other methods to deal with this touchy subject. I am wondering if anyone has any tips on how they approach teaching a topic like evolutionary theory without creating controversy among students, families, or the community? I am also curious if anyone has stories of how they dealt with a situation related to teaching controversial topics?

Susan Cooper Susan Cooper 10135 Points

Hello Grant,

I highly recommend the National Center for Science Education resources. Go to https://ncse.ngo/ to find out more. Good luck!

Dr. Susan J. Cooper, Florida Gulf Coast University

Anna Rood Anna Rood 325 Points

It is important to address to parents and students that you are not trying to change their beliefs, but trying to get them to understand the concept. Just like any other concept in school that is taught. Teach it for students to understand it, not to believe it. It is important for students to understand that it is a theory. Meaning, it is a concept supported by fossil records and DNA studies and it is accepted by scientist all over the world. Many do not take the word theory professional due to its misuse and that theories are mallable. Theories have a main overall concept, but evidence, facts, supporting the concept can be changed as new evidence and/or technology is revealed.