Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Advice for Elementary Lessons on Heredity

Elementary Science

Advice for Elementary Lessons on Heredity

Author Post
Alexandra Kenkelen Alexandra Kenkelen 1145 Points

Hello! I am currently a graduate student working for my Pre-K to Grade 4 certification. I have been assigned to develop a unit on heredity for my Elementary Science Teaching Methods class. This unit will consist of 6 to 8 lessons. I am aiming my lessons to second graders. My overarching theme of this unit is to explore the differences within a species (why do humans have so many similarities and differences). This is my first experience planning an entire unit of lessons. I would really appreciate any advice! Thanks, Alex

Hi, I saw a great activity where student made an inventory of traits. This was for higher elementary grades but you can maybe look at it and adapt it so that it is appropriate to your grade level. You also can focus on pets, for example dob breeds or crossbreeds and have students analyze and observe their differences and similarities. Perhaps you have animal photos and have students group them or categorize them. You could also see if they can determine the parents based on physical traits.   http://teach.genetics.utah.edu/content/heredity/files/InventoryOfTraits.pdf

Justine Sandoval Justine Sandoval 570 Points

There is a website that is called betterlesson.com that is a great resource to teach science. It is filled with lessons from teachers that have taught units on different science ideas and provide videos and handouts that go with the lesson. It aligns itself quite nicely with the NGSS standards and format as well.

Justine Sandoval Justine Sandoval 570 Points