Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Getting students involved and excited about science

Elementary Science

Getting students involved and excited about science

Author Post
Haley Maxwell Haley Maxwell 550 Points

Hello, I am a preservice teacher and currently in school pursuing elementary education. As I am doing my field hours I have noticed it is quite difficult to get the students engaged and excited to do science lessons and experiments. Does anyone have any tips or strategies that have worked in the past?

Olivia Wooff Olivia Wooff 3410 Points

I would make the lessons and activities hands-on. Get the students moving around and interacting with classmates. This will help build the energy in the room and keep the lessons engaging. Find out what the students interests are and build on that to meet their needs. Let the students have choice in the experiments they create and do. Let the students explore on their own and learn by doing.

Sara Pierce Sara Pierce 3922 Points

I agree! The more hands on activities you can incorporate as well as trying to integrate other subjects too!

Jacqueline Mask Jacqueline Mask 385 Points

Hello, I have been teaching for over 25 years and Science is my passion. My tip to you would be to use everyday household items to make Science real to the students. For example, I have used a banana and mallet to demonstrate physical changes of matter.

Eddy Martinez Eddy Martinez 1440 Points

Hi Haley,

I am student teaching this semester in a 5th grade classroom. I have spoken many times with the 5th grade Science teacher about what type of lesson he teacher as well as what strategies he uses to get the students engaged and motivated. He tells me that all of his lessons are written in the 5E model.

If you do not know yet the 5E lesson model consists of:
Engagement: Getting the students interested
Exploration: Hands-on activities
Explanation: Questions or techniques you will use to help students make connections.