Forums

Forums / New Teachers / appropriate or not

New Teachers

appropriate or not

Author Post
Mark McLean Mark McLean 40 Points

I am a student teacher and recently I was "called out" for talking about date rape drugs with my 8th grade science students. One of my students asked how the nail polish works that changes colors as an indicator of the date rape drug in a drink. I thought it was a good opportunity to explain how the scientist at NCSU discovered and patented this nail polish. I also answered questions that followed about how to guard against becoming a victim (covering drinks, lids, etc).  Evidently a parent complained about me discussing this and talked to the principal. I was told this was not something that I should have talked about and avoid any discussions of sensitive material in the future.  This bothered me a great deal, I felt it was relevant to science, helpful, and something useful for 8th graders to know. What am I to make of parents telling me what is and isn't appropriate within the confines of what is within policy? I can certainly understand not talking about religion, morals, politics, and such. I saw this as both a realworld science topic and helping students to be aware of dangers. I do not want to teach in a system where I have to alter my lessons to what different parents think is appropriate and not-appropriate. If we talk about meat protein in diet, are vegan parents going to tell me I can't talk about meat? How far does this go? How much is this a real stress for teachers? Should I consider private over public? Please advise. I am currently student teaching and would appreciate your advice. Thank you! Mark

Bo Cheli Bo Cheli 60 Points