Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Benefits of homework

Early Childhood

Benefits of homework

Author Post
Marisol Martinez Marisol Martinez 540 Points

What are the benefits of assigning homework? Is it more effective to assign homework on an extra credit basis or penalize if not completed? 

Nicole Gonzalez Nicole Gonzalez 900 Points

Hello Marisol, in my opinion I do believe in homework when it is needed. My sister is currently a Math teacher, and she says that she must send the students home with homework every day because her school requires it. On the other hand, my niece says she hardly gets homework because her teacher said that she doesn't like to send homework, unless they do not finish their work during class time. Good Luck!

Julissa Zarate Julissa Zarate 740 Points

As a future teacher, I consider assigning homework to be a beneficial element to help facilitate a student’s learning. Important note: Homework doesn’t need to be extensive or hard; Homework can be fun and engaging! In early childhood, young learners will be benefit from homework in a multitude of extraordinary ways. For example, if we are learning about the appropriate clothing to wear during the winter season – then, I’ll assign them to complete the winter season in their season’s booklet. In this homework, students take a picture using the correct clothing – then, paste their photograph inside of the booklet and explain why they decided to wear the clothes in one complete sentence. I’ve decided to create a fun, engaging homework to get students active and motivate to learn the importance of wearing the correct clothing for a specific season, while still documenting their adventures in the booklet for me to assess. If a student and/or handful of students do not complete the homework assigned – I will not penalize the student(s), instead remind the class about the importance of completing their homework. In doing so, this will prevent shaming a student and/or group of students in front of