Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Elementary Science Misconceptions

Elementary Science

Elementary Science Misconceptions

Author Post
Tara Browning Tara Browning 200 Points

Hello! I am studying to become a teacher, and this semester I have to teach a science lesson the revolves around one science misconception the students have. I know that sometimes even adults and/or teachers still have misconceptions. So, I am just curious, what is a science misconception you had even as an adult/teacher and what finally helped you change you thoughts about that topic?

Jennifer Maher Jennifer Maher 1205 Points

One misconception I have encountered is the belief that plants get the majority of what they need to grow from soil. They observe that the plant changes over time and just assume that the plant is taking the majority of what it needs from the soil. Even with an understanding of photosynthesis, this idea persists. I have them record the mass of a seed, the mass of soil and a container. They plant the seed and then after about 2-3 weeks they find the mass of the plant and the mass of the container/soil again. Usually that is enough for them to see that the mass of the soil stayed pretty constant, so they begin thinking about the carbon dioxide and sunlight as well. This is the beginning of the realization that matter is conserved in an ecosystem and flows in from a variety of sources.

Connie Kennedy Connie Kennedy 600 Points

This is such a fantastic topic!! Thank you for bringing it up. It reminds me of the importance of assessing prior knowledge and flushing out those misconceptions. Keep up the good work!

Marina Hamilton Marina Hamilton 730 Points

There are misconceptions about the scientific method concerning the fact that it must follow those exact steps in order to conduct an experiment. Sometimes the experiment happens before the hypothesis. This tends to happen a lot in an inquiry based lesson and 5 E lessons. 

Laura Dang Laura Dang 995 Points