Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Classroom Management During Projects

Early Childhood

Classroom Management During Projects

Author Post

I am a pre-service teacher. I was wondering if anyone has any tips for ways to keep control of the classroom while doing an engaging science project? It seems like it might be hard to let the kids be independent, but also be in control of what is going on in the classroom. Thanks for the help! 

Ethan Schoenlein Ethan Schoenlein 510 Points

I think that part of engaging in scientific learning experiences is breaking the bonds of typical classroom characteristics. What I mean by this is that I think that children probably should show a certain (and appropriate) degree of loudness, wildness, and unpredictability when exploring science. Science education in the early grades is all about inquiry-based learning and should be hands on. With this style of learning, children will hopefully be excited and enthusiastic. Obviously, when they are feeling this way, they will in turn have a little more tactile-kinesthetic orientation, and will most likely be a little more audible. This is okay! Though your principal may have some questions for you, should he pass by your classroom during this activity, you'll be fine as long as you can justify your methods.

Kelsie Dartayet Kelsie Dartayet 1515 Points