Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Summative Assessment

New Teachers

Summative Assessment

Author Post
Aubrey Fortuno Aubrey Fortuno 1060 Points

Aloha,

I'm curious about the different types of summative assessment you all have experience with, have seen in the field, etc. I'm currently a pre-service teacher in a progressive school that does not give unit/chapter tests, so I'd like to know what else is available to assess student learning in an engaging way, but also honors that every child is at a different place developmentally. Feel free to provide different examples, talk about an experience, what you and your students got out of it, etc. 

Mahalo.

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Hi Aubrey,

I teach middle school 7th and 8th grade. I use science journals/notebooks and if I wait until we complete a unit, I would not be able to address misconceptions. I use driving questions that spiral back to the unit phenomena that we are working on. I have each group or sometimes each student, write their own questions on sticky notes. As a class, we choose the questions that align with the unit phenomena. Students know that some of those questions will be used for summative assessment. As we go through investigations and experiments, we go back and determine if we found the answers. I then give an assessment with performance tasks using data we have compiled and the students' questions. I remind them that I am looking for their claims based on evidence, and reasoning. 

Kellie Burgess Kellie Burgess 930 Points