Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Movies in Science

Chemistry

Movies in Science

Author Post
Katherine Tierney Katherine Tierney 1780 Points

I am a fourth grade teacher taking a science in movies class. I wanted to use the movie Flubber with Robin Williams to demonstrate our Hawaii science standard of mixing subtances to create a new one. I have found some examples like combining vinegar and baking soda to create a gas, but I was looking for more help. I am planning a lesson that ties in with the movie and need some safe examples that the students can explore with on their own. The substances can tranform to a liquid, solid, or gas. Does anyone have any suggestions? Also, does anyone have suggestions for any other movies that might highlight this standard? It need to be a mainstream Hollywood movie.

Donna Martin Donna Martin 4025 Points

I did a lab to make a polymer (silly putty) I did it in my high school lab but it can be used with most ages, the kids loved it. Here is one example of the lab.[url=http://matse1.matse.illinois.edu/polymers/f.html]

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Silly putty is a great suggestion, Donna. I like Oobleck, too, Katherine. I am attaching 3 resources from the NLC about oobleck, etc. I hope you find them helpful.
Idea Bank: Oobleck and Beyond for high school
Recipes for middle school
Water “Stick-to-It-Ness”: A Penny for Your Thoughts a book chapter that mentions oobleck (elem & middle school)
Hope this helps.
Also, there is another discussion thread with the same title: Movies in Science in the Elementary Science Discussion Forum. It may have some additional ideas for you, Katherine.
Carolyn

Thank you ladies. I love the idea of silly putty and I think the students would be very engaged in these activities. I also appreciate the resources, I don have nearly enough resources for my science class.

Liamarie Thomas Liamarie Thomas 2360 Points