Forums

Elementary Science

Planets

Author Post
Tanya Hernandez Tanya Hernandez 455 Points

What are some exciting and effective ways for elementary students to learn the names of the planets?

As a future elementary teacher, I would love to learn fun and effective ways to help the students learn about the planets. Open to all ideas! Thank you.

Valeria Garcia Valeria Garcia 385 Points

Hi, Tanya I think there are so many fun ways you can introduce the planets with students. Growing up, I found it easy and fun to learn about them by watching videos. Also, I think songs about the planets would really help students learn all about them. A good idea you can do is separate your students into groups and assign each group a planet they can study. Students can work on posters/anchor charts on the planets. Furthermore, I think you can incorporate games to help them learn the names of the planets. 

Brenda Garza Brenda Garza 605 Points

Hey Tanya, I remember learning the planets with a ball. The teacher would first teach us the lesson and then we would have a fun activity and toss the ball to each other by naming each planet in order. If we got it wrong we would go to the back of the line and then start over from the beginning. It was super fun and I loved learning the names of them like that. Watching videos can also be a great tool to use to help students or even a work activity or making a fun projects with the class.

Rachel Frey Rachel Frey 463 Points

While I agree with the other comments about how the students need to learn about the planets, I was taught the mnemonic device that uses a sentence where each word starts with the same letter as the corresponding planet (My Very Excellent Mother Just Served Us Nachos).  This sentence varies among teachers, but it has still stuck with me into my adulthood.

Mayte Salinas Mayte Salinas 710 Points

Hello Tanya!