Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / General Science Question

Elementary Science

General Science Question

Author Post
Jennifer King Jennifer King 270 Points

Hello fellow science teachers/nerds,

I am a preservice teacher at Penn State Harrisburg. For field experience I am placed in a second grade classroom and I have been noticing that students have limited time to do anything science related. Now, I have not observed much science because my teacher doesn't teach it because the students switch for these classes and each of the second grade teachers teach different things. My mentor teacher, in particular teaches health and maybe a science lesson here or there if the other teacher cannot get around to it. Personally, I think it is sad that science and social studies (my favorite) do not get nearly enough instructional time dedicated to them that they should, despite their importance. Of course, this is a different discussion for another day. In my science methods course, we have discussed a variety of different science programs. Some of these programs are incredibly fascinating and I think students need those hands on experiences with science.

I guess my question is a more general one for all the current teachers and science professionals out there. How do teachers incorporate fun, hands on activities to teach science in such a limited span of time. Any advice from current teachers on what kinds of activities you incorporate into your classroom would be greatly appreciated. How do you manage the time situation effectively? What kinds of activites would you recommend to other teachers that you consider engaging? 

Thank you all for your time in reading this! I am open to any advice or response you may have. It is awesome to have an opportunity to reach out to other educators!

Bazinga! (BIG BANG THEORY REFERENCE!) 

Thank you,

Jen King

Ashley Darling Ashley Darling 2025 Points

Jennifer,