Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Interacting with parents

New Teachers

Interacting with parents

Author Post
Andrea Harris Andrea Harris 320 Points

Hello! I am a student at Wright state and I was wondering if anyone had fun ways to get parents involved besides just having a letter be sent home at the end of the week. How can I make them feel like they are apart of the classroom?

Alexis Van Den Broek Alexis Van Den Broek 3800 Points

Hi! So one thing that I love to do is write letters to the parents throughout the year. I send letters home in the beginning, middle, and end of the year. I write about how their students are doing, how they are behaving, and how they are helping me grow as an educator. I am also looking into more ways of getting parents involved!

Mya Violet Mya Violet 660 Points

Hi!! One thing I got to watch occur in a classroom setting was a 'Friday Folder' that went home to parents each week. This folder was the parent's responsibility and it was a constant way for parents to get ahold of the teacher. The teacher sent home positive notes and the student's work from the week. She made it a fact to write as many handwritten notes as possible and created an enjoyable line of interaction with parents. Another thing I have noticed to be effective is family projects. A couple of examples are 100's day bringing in 100 of one item (count them with family), and decorating a turkey in disguise so it doesn't get eaten for thanksgiving.

Samantha Stallings Samantha Stallings 1425 Points