Forums

Forums / Life Science / Living and Nonliving Things

Life Science

Living and Nonliving Things

Author Post
Rachel Sills Rachel Sills 675 Points

Hello everyone! My name is Rachel and I am currently a student teacher from the University of Houston. I am creating a lesson plan for kindergarten on the topic of living and non-living things. What are some actvities and/or examples that I can incorperate into my lesson to help deepen the level of understanding on this topic and make it a more valuable learning experience? 

Torrey Wenger Torrey Wenger 907 Points

This is something I've done with my high schoolers but I think it works for all levels. Give each group of kids a tray of items - a leaf, a wind-up toy, a picture of a puppy, a rock, etc - & have them sort the objects into living & non-living piles. Then have a discussion where they explain *why* they sorted them out that way. (The discussion is the important part.) If you do this, let me know how it works!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Rachel, check out https://ngss.nsta.org/classroom-resources-results.aspx?CoreIdea=6

You can refine your search. I selected K and Life Science. They include lessons, resources, materials, and handouts, and are aligned to NGSS.

Wendy Miranda Wendy Miranda 450 Points

Hello Rachel,

Teaching children about living and non-living things can be really interesting! I would suggest you begin by introducing what non-living and living things can be. Then provide them with card examples that sort the two categories. I found a good website that shows an example of a lesson that can be included for students in all elementary grades, beginning from grade K. It provides the objectives, resources used, materials, background information and the actual lesson. if you get the opportunity check it out. Here's the link:

https://mpt.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/tdc02.sci.life.colt.lp_living/living-vs-nonliving/

Lyana Flores Lyana Flores 170 Points