Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Teaching Science Lesson for the First Time

Elementary Science

Teaching Science Lesson for the First Time

Author Post
Sydney Brown Sydney Brown 180 Points

Hi! I am a preservice teacher and will be teaching my first science lesson to a first grade class soon and was wondering if anyone had any advice for first timers? Is there a favorite lesson you may have, specifically for a first grade class? How do I get the class excited for a science lesson? Thank you!

Megan Doty Megan Doty 11847 Points

Hi Sydney, Welcome to the teaching profession! We hope your first lesson is an absolute success. I found a few resources that may be of help as you are starting your career - if you need anything else, please reply and let me know! First, Science Objects help to refresh your background knowledge on the specific content you will be teaching. You can find a list of our Science Objects here: http://common.nsta.org/search/default.aspx?action=browse&text=&price=&type=object&subject=&topic=0&gradelevel=&sort=1&page=0&dep=&coll=&author= Feel free to select whichever topic you plan to teach or need in the future! I also found a few resources discussing different ideas already used in first grade classrooms. Do you think you could implement any of these? http://common.nsta.org/resource/default.aspx?id=10.2505%2f4%2fsc10_047_07_38 http://learningcenter.nsta.org/resource/?id=10.2505/4/sc12_050_02_68 http://common.nsta.org/resource/?id=10.2505/4/sc11_048_07_40 Again, please let us know if we can help with anything else. Best of luck, and be sure to let us know how it went! -Megan

Chloe Lopez Chloe Lopez 220 Points