Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / What are some of the key ways to evaluate and assess a student's progress in the Science classroom?

Evaluation and Assessment

What are some of the key ways to evaluate and assess a student's progress in the Science classroom?

Author Post
Gabriella Bulahan Gabriella Bulahan 2165 Points

My name is Gabriella Bulahan. I am a graduate school and pre-service student with Tennessee Tech University in Tennessee. I do have some observation and volunteer service learning experience, but have not worked with students in a Science classroom yet. So, I would like some advice to the following questions: What are some of the key ways to evaluate and assess a student and their progress in the Science classroom? Also, would the evaluation and assessment process be the same as other content area classrooms or different, especially when working with classrooms that are shared lab spaces? I would like to know from other pre-service, current, and experienced teachers because I am currently not teaching and would like some advice to learn from and use as a guide for my future classroom.

Peter Ower Peter Ower 140 Points

Hi Gabriella,

I've been a science teacher for 16 years in 7th grade. There are various ways you can assess students as you progress through a unit. Here are some examples of what I do.

Formative Assessments

1. 'For Now' Models. Ask students to create visual explanations for the unit phenomenon. For example, I just finished a unit on photosynthesis and respiration. By the end of our first few lessons, I asked students to make a 'for now' model showing how plants change the amount of carbon dioxide in the air. The reason it's 'for now' is because the unit isn't done yet, so they don't have all the DCIs necessary to complete the full model.