Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Earth Space Science Kindergarten

Earth and Space Science

Earth Space Science Kindergarten

Author Post
Stephanie Kanouse Stephanie Kanouse 245 Points

Hello! I'm a pre-service teacher working on a lesson for kindergartners.  The standard is observing objects in the night and day sky, so that's what the unit is about. For my lesson, I am focusing on the sun. My misconception is that students believe the sun rises straight up and sets straight down. I was wondering if anyone had appropriate activities for kindergartners around the sun. Thanks! 

Hi, Stephanie. In my son's kindergarten class, he studied shadows created by the sun's movement across the sky. The students stood in a sunny place, on an X that was marked on the playground. They drew a mark on the ground where the top of their head was at 9:00am, then every hour or two throughout the day so that they could see how their shadow moved as the sun moved across the sky. I hope this helps! Best wishes, Rachel

Trisha Carmona Trisha Carmona 1140 Points

Hey Stephanie, This is a great idea to introduce students to the sun movements. The students will be learning and collecting data throughout the day. I think another thing that could have enriched this lesson would be to have students make predictions. They could create an anchor chart with the information they collected and with the predictions they made. The students could also draw a picture of their shadow as it moves every hour.

Cara Cook Cara Cook 5795 Points