Forums

Next Generation Science Standards

Fossils Resources

Author Post
Raymond Jones Raymond Jones 740 Points

I am a Third grade teacher. I want to know of some resources that can support my fossils unit. In particularly, I want to inquire about resources that provide a visual of the changing Earth. I try to help students understand that the Earth was a much different place in long past. I have found resources on plants and animals but I need resources on the changing Earth. The science standard wants students to understand that paleontologist study fossils to learn about what earth used to look like. Thanks

Cori Coleman Cori Coleman 2685 Points

Go to the Learning Resource & Opportunities tab here and search the Science and Children Journal Articles for one called Layer-Cake Earth...it was so amazing!!!! I tweaked it a bit to use with 4th graders but it was well worth the baking! :)

Cori Coleman Cori Coleman 2685 Points

Try this website, too... http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/education/explotime.html

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points