Forums

Forums / New Teachers / 2nd grade to high school

New Teachers

2nd grade to high school

Author Post
Nicole Ross Nicole Ross 365 Points

I am a first year teacher and was originally teaching second grade. But now, I have a position to work as an aide for high school students. Do you have any suggestions for how I can switch gears from working with 7-8 year olds to teenagers? I am nervous because I frequently pass for a teenager myself, and I want to establish an air of authority from day one. Do you have any suggestions on how I can to that? Any advice having to do with my teacher presence, classroom management, and implementing lesson plans in secondary education are welcome and appreciated.

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

The first impression students will get of you is your manner of dress. Be sure to dress very professionally and not like the kids. This way you will look mature to them. Your demeanor will also have an effect on them. Always be "adult like". You can loosen up later when the kids get to know you better and have learned to respect you. Good luck on this challenge.

Michael Nilles Michael Nilles 445 Points