Forums

Forums / STEM / Engaging students through STEM activities

STEM

Engaging students through STEM activities

Author Post

Hello, My name is Britney and I am a current college student majoring in Elementary education. I am currently working on creating a fun and engaging STEM activity for my methods of science class. I know some students are not big fans of STEM courses, and I am wondering how I can create an activity that is both interesting and educational for students. Is there anything I should take into consideration when creating a STEM activity? 

Sweta Srivastava Sweta Srivastava 150 Points

Hi Britney,

My Britney,

Currently, I am teaching Chemistry in High School and taught Science in middle school as well. During my transition from middle to high school, I noticed that students' perspectives changed as they attended high school, science classes. After observing the trends, I realized that in elementary schools, students only learn the fun part of science 5E lessons: Engagement and hands-on activity. When they move to secondary schools, teachers help them to think about the connection between engagement and expect to explain and correlate their observations to real word scenarios. Which students think is problematic because now they have to think, write, and calculate to get the outcome of their science experiment. I would suggest planning a fun activity while encouraging them to think outside the box and allowing them to share their findings in class with their classmate.

Best,

Sweta

Neely Tonos Neely Tonos 585 Points

I like to use the bottle ecosystems in my high school classes to help my students learn about scientific research but this could easily be adapted for any grade level and many different STEM activities.

Attachments

Lisy Vazquez Lisy Vazquez 1825 Points

Hi Britney,