Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Just sharing

Earth and Space Science

Just sharing

Author Post
Randolph Florendo Randolph Florendo 110 Points

I am currently studying "Oceans effect on weather and Climate" and find the information very interesting. Living in Hawaii and surrounded by ocean, the material is very relevant and informative. I now can grasp and understand with more knowledge the effect of the ocean on our weather and climate. I am also able to actually listen to the weather report which seemed alien to me prior to reading the material and understand whats going on. Now, being a fisherman, if I can just find the information on ocean factors and fishes (tuna, mahimahi, marlin, etc).

Ken Liu Ken Liu 2000 Points

When teaching the topic of climate, I feel it is also important to include the subject of "climate change" and how human activities are drastically affecting the climate. It could be a contentious subject, and if the students are engaged, you can have wonderful debates.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Randolph,
You might find the Coral Reef Ecosystems SciGuide helpful. It contains lesson plans and lots of resources about Coral Reefs and their inhabitants (including fish, of course).
I also came across an article that has a great title. If you teach middle school, you might find it worth your time to read:
Ooey, Gooey, Fish Guts!
Oh, and NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - Ocean is an excellent resource.
Carolyn

Kehau Samuelu DonnaLynn Samuelu 3485 Points